Skip to content

First Hymn of Rig Veda – Agni Suktam and Your 108 Chakras

Today, we will discuss the first nine hymns from the first mandala of Rigveda, one of the oldest scriptures of Hinduism, and they are part of a hymn dedicated to Agni, the Vedic god of divine fire. This is known as Agni Suktam, serves as the opening hymn in the Rig Veda, which is considered the most ancient among all the scriptures of the world.

According to the teachings of Guruji, Sri Amit Ray, the transformative power of fire in the 114 chakras symbolizes the burning away of past karmas, excessive egos, ignorance, and attachment, leading to spiritual awakening and liberation. In 2005, Guruji, Sri Amit Ray  discovered the 114 chakras.

It is a profound invocation to the fire deity Agni. Held in high regard as a cosmic entity, Agni is lauded as the celestial protector who sanctifies and illuminates the human journey, guiding individuals towards spiritual enlightenment and perfection.

“The spiritual fire of your 114 chakras symbolizes the inner light of awareness that illuminates your perception and enables you to see beyond the realm of the physical senses.” – Sri Amit Ray

By performing the Agni Suktam, devout individuals manifest their esteem and entreat Agni for favor, recognizing his crucial significance in both their metaphysical expedition and the grand scheme of things.

Light of the 114 Chakras

Reflecting on the teachings of Guruji Sri Amit Ray, I gain a deeper understanding of the true nature of these mantras. Through the practice of chanting Agani Suktam mantras with sincerity and devotion, you can also awaken the dormant potentials within, transcending the limitations of the material world and attaining union with the divine.

Each verse praises Agni and highlights different aspects of his divine attributes. Let’s break down the meaning of each verse:

  1. ॐ अ॒ग्निमी॑ळे पु॒रोहि॑तं य॒ज्ञस्य॑ दे॒वमृत्विज॑म्। होता॑रं रत्न॒धात॑मम्॥
    • Meaning: “Om. I praise Agni, the high priest of the sacrifice, the divine priest of the offering, the invoker, the bestower of wealth.”
    • Explanation: This verse acknowledges Agni as the primary intermediary between humans and the gods in Vedic rituals. Agni is revered as the purifier who carries the offerings of humans to the celestial realms and brings divine blessings (wealth) back to them.
  2. अ॒ग्निः पूर्वे॑भि॒रृषि॑भि॒रीड्यो॒ नूत॑नैरु॒त। स दे॒वाँ एह व॑क्षति॥
    • Meaning: “Agni, who is adored by ancient sages and by the latest, and by the gods, he shall summon them hither.”
    • Explanation: This verse emphasizes Agni’s universal significance and his role as the object of worship for both ancient sages and contemporary worshippers. Agni is called upon to bring the gods to the ritualistic gathering.
  3. अ॒ग्निना॑ र॒यिम॑श्नव॒त्पोष॑मे॒व दि॒वेदि॑वे। य॒शसं॑ वी॒रव॑त्तमम्॥
    • Meaning: “By Agni, consume wealth, and bestow it, day by day, O Agni, to the one who is famous and very mighty.”
    • Explanation: In this verse, worshippers invoke Agni to accept their offerings and prayers and to bestow prosperity and glory upon them continually. Agni is recognized as the conduit through which blessings flow from the heavens to the earth.
  4. अग्ने॒ यं य॒ज्ञम॑ध्व॒रं वि॒श्वत॑: परि॒भूरसि॑। स इद्दे॒वेषु॑ गच्छति॥
    • Meaning: “O Agni, you who preside over all rituals, you encompass everything, you proceed among the gods.”
    • Explanation: This verse highlights Agni’s omnipresence and his central role in all sacrificial rituals. Agni is regarded as the chief among the gods and the one who facilitates communication between humans and deities.
  5. अ॒ग्निर्होता॑ क॒विक्र॑तुः स॒त्यश्चि॒त्रश्र॑वस्तमः। दे॒वो दे॒वेभि॒रा ग॑मत्॥
    • Meaning: “Agni, the invoker, the wise one who knows all things, the truthful, the most gloriously famous among the gods, may the god come to the gods.”
    • Explanation: Agni is praised here as the skilled priest, the knower of all, and the epitome of truth and glory among the gods. The verse expresses the worshippers’ desire for Agni’s presence and blessings during their rituals.
  6. यद॒ङ्ग द॒शुषे॒ त्वमग्ने॑ भ॒द्रं क॑रि॒ष्यसि॑। तवेत्तत्स॒त्यम॑ङ्गिरः॥
    • Meaning: “O Agni, what good things you will do for the worshipper, may they be true. That word of yours is true.”
    • Explanation: The worshippers express their trust in Agni’s benevolence and request that the blessings he bestows upon them be true and enduring. They affirm Agni’s reliability and the truthfulness of his promises.
  7. उप॑ त्वाग्ने दि॒वेदि॑वे॒ दोषा॑वस्तर्धि॒या व॒यम्। नमो॒ भर॑न्त॒ एम॑सि॥
    • Meaning: “O Agni, who shines on earth and in heaven, we remove the faults of both worlds. We bow down to you.”
    • Explanation: This verse acknowledges Agni’s presence in both the earthly and celestial realms and seeks his assistance in removing any obstacles or impurities that may hinder the worshipper’s spiritual journey. It concludes with a reverential bow to Agni.
  8. राज॑न्तमध्व॒राणां॑ गो॒पामृ॒तस्य॒ दीदि॑विम्। वर्ध॑मानं स्वे दमे॑॥
    • Meaning: “O Agni, the protector of the ritual, the guard of the nectar, shining splendidly, waxing in your own abode.”
    • Explanation: Agni is hailed as the guardian of the sacrificial rites and the protector of the sacred nectar (amrita). The worshippers praise Agni’s radiant presence and his continuous growth and strength.
  9. स न॑: पि॒तेव॑ सू॒नवेऽग्ने॑ सूपाय॒नो भ॑व। सच॑स्वा नः स्व॒स्तये॑॥
    • Meaning: “O Agni, be for us like a father to his sons, an easy path, O Agni, to the one who sacrifices. Shine happily for our well-being.”
    • Explanation: In this concluding verse, the worshippers invoke Agni as a benevolent father figure who guides and protects them on their spiritual journey. They seek Agni’s blessings for a smooth and prosperous life, expressing their desire for his continued benevolence and happiness.

Guruji, Sri Amit Ray, emphasized that mantras are not mere repetitions of words or phrases; rather, they are sacred gateways that resonate with the cosmic energy of the universe.  In 2005, Guruji, Sri Amit Ray introduced the 114 chakras to the world, to cover the total neuropsychology, human mind, body, and spiritual experiences. He discovered the names, locations, functions, mantras, and awakenings of all the 114 chakras. Compassion, peace, values, and love for humanity is his core teachings.

In the tradition of Sri Amit Ray, chakras are not junction points of the nadis, they are divine yagya kundas.  Similarly, chanting the Mahamrityunjay Mantra can purify and remove the blockages of your 1114 Chakras.

The Agni Suktam Rig Veda 1.1 Lyrics:

ॐ श्री परमात्मने नम:
॥श्री गणेशाय नमः॥
ॐ अग्निमीळे पुरोहितं यज्ञस्य देवमृत्विजम् ।
होतारं रत्नधातमम् ॥१॥
अग्निः पूर्वेभिर्ऋषिभिरीड्यो नूतनैरुत ।
स देवाँ एह वक्षति ॥२॥
अग्निना रयिमश्नवत्पोषमेव दिवेदिवे ।
यशसं वीरवत्तमम् ॥३॥
अग्ने यं यज्ञमध्वरं विश्वतः परिभूरसि ।
स इद्देवेषु गच्छति ॥४॥
अग्निर्होता कविक्रतुः सत्यश्चित्रश्रवस्तमः ।
देवो देवेभिरा गमत् ॥५॥
यदङ्ग दाशुषे त्वमग्ने भद्रं करिष्यसि ।
तवेत्तत्सत्यमङ्गिरः ॥६॥
उप त्वाग्ने दिवेदिवे दोषावस्तर्धिया वयम् ।
नमो भरन्त एमसि ॥७॥
राजन्तमध्वराणां गोपामृतस्य दीदिविम् ।
वर्धमानं स्वे दमे ॥८॥
स नः पितेव सूनवेऽग्ने सूपायनो भव ।
सचस्वा नः स्वस्तये ॥९॥

The Agni Suktam Rig Veda 1.1

In summary, these verses from the Rigveda offer profound insights into the ancient Vedic worship of Agni and provide a glimpse into the spiritual significance attributed to fire in Hindu tradition. Agni is revered as the divine intermediary, the purifier, the bestower of blessings, and the guardian of the sacred rites. Through these hymns, worshippers express their reverence, gratitude, and devotion to Agni, seeking his guidance, protection, and blessings in their spiritual endeavors.

Contact us | About us | Privacy Policy and Terms of Use |